Indie Book Award shortlist

Last year the winner of the Indie Book of the Year chosen by independent booksellers was Jasper Jones by Craig Silvey. Who will it be this year? Chris Womersley? Bereft has had exceptional crits but the books by Anh Do and Paul Kelly have been extremely popular. The finalists are announced in March.


  • Bereft (Chris Womersley, Scribe)
  • Indelible Ink (Fiona McGregor, Scribe)
  • When Colts Ran (Roger McDonald, Vintage)
  • That Deadman Dance (Kim Scott, Picador)


  • The Happiest Refugee (Anh Do, A&U)
  • How to Make Gravy (Paul Kelly, Hamish Hamilton)
  • The Well at the World’s End (A J Mackinnon, Black Inc.)
  • Street Fight in Naples (Peter Robb, A&U)

Debut fiction

  • Rocks in the Belly (Jon Bauer, Scribe)
  • Book of Lost Threads (Tess Evans, A&U)
  • The Legacy (Kirsten Tranter, Fourth Estate)
  • The Old School (P M Newton, Viking)

Children’s shortlist

  • Museum of Thieves (Lian Tanner, A&U)
  • Mirror (Jeannie Baker, Walker Books)
  • The Very Bad Book (Andy Griffiths & Terry Denton, Pan Macmillan)
  • The Legend of the Golden Snail (Graeme Base, Viking).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *